DIY: Throw Pillows

I’ve been making pillows since I was about ten years old. My neighbor got a sewing machine for Christmas one year and next thing you know I had one too and was selling pillows to campers and counselors at my summer camp. Hence it never really surprised me that my top choice school was also the number 1 school for entrepreneurship. Thanks Babson for supporting my entrepreneurial spirit (and liking my essay about Fluff ‘n Stuff enough to let me in)

I’ve since stopped selling but i’ve never stopped making my own pillows. It’s such an inexpensive way to change up a room. I was going for a grey and white theme in my new room in my apartment, only because our landlord (sadly) doesn’t let us paint.

Inspiration:

I found these on Esty, $40 for two pillow covers

My Version:

Materials Needed:

  • 1/2 yard of patterned fabric and 1/2 yard of plain fabric
  • Pillow form or pillow stuffing
  • Sewing machine/Thread

Step 1: Cut  squares about an inch bigger on each side than you want the pillow to be

Step 2: Flip fabric so the sides that will eventually be on the outside are facing in

Step 3: Sew 3.5 sides, leaving half a side open. Flip the case right side out, and stuff with pillow stuffing or a pillow form.

Step 4: Roll open edges inward, and sew shut close to the edge

If you know how to operate a sewing machine, a pillow is definitely of the easiest things to make! Now presenting the finished product of both my DIY headboard and pillows:

2 thoughts on “DIY: Throw Pillows

  1. Amazing things here. I’m very satisfied to see your article. Thank you a lot and I am looking ahead to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

Leave a Reply

